In our latest issue:

 fresh eco-fashion styles and healthy lunches your kids will love See more >
KIWI Magazine

Product information

The Day the Crayons Quit
Drew Daywalt (Author), Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)
Philomel , June 27, 2013

Product type:

Categories:

Cautions: None

KIWI Magazine Review:

I always wondered if the crayons in the box envied one another. Blue gets all of the attention and black is confined to outlining and stormy weather. According to this adorable, humorous book, the crayons personified, indeed, are not only envious, but proud, manipulative, and narcissistic. Each crayon color writes a note to its owner (Duncan) in its own color, and protests always being relegated to the same roles in drawings such as a blue sea, gray storm cloud, or yellow sun. They want the opportunity to try other roles and become more than the expected. And, well let’s just say that the crayon whose peel has been removed is embarrassed to even leave the box. This book will be an instant favorite!

 

 

Publisher’s Information:

Crayons have feelings too, in this funny back-to-school story!

 

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

 

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ Stuck, The Incredibly Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.

 

Advertisements

Subscribe to KIWI! Save more than 50% off the newsstand price.

© 2013 May Media Group, LLC. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy